How I won the Nat Geo Moment Awards 2013.

It was just another day and I was chilling at my apartment in Hyderabad suddenly I got a request from a stranger on facebook.
I added him and 5 minutes later I got a message from him. It said “CONGRATULATIONS” with a link to some facebook page. Clicked on it and it said I am the mega prize winner of Nat Geo Moment Awards 2013. It looked something like this

Sourabh Paul Winner of nat Geo Moment Awards 2013
Ami Vitale who happens to be one of my favorite photographers has chosen me the winner of this competition. I checked the link over and over again, half n hour later I started getting calls from friends all over India and they were asking me “Is it you who bagged the award this year ?” and I finally believed it.

So, I am sharing the enlarged version of the picture which was taken back in 2010 at a village fair somewhere in West Bengal.

Nat Geo Moment Awards 2013 Winner Sourabh Paul captured the lost tradition of village fairs in India.

Nat Geo Moment Awards 2013 Winner Sourabh Paul captured the lost tradition of village fairs in India.

Today I got published in Deccan Chronicles in Hyderabad

City Boy Wins Nat Geo Moment Award

City Boy Wins Nat Geo Moment Award

Now, lets come to the exciting part of the story.
As a child I have always dreamt of being into an adventurous world where life spreads its wings and says “Lets Fly.”
The prize for winning this competition is a whole new reward for me as a photographer because it said I would get the chance to work on a National Geographic assignment where I get an opportunity to go as a photo blogger to capture behind the scenes. Finally I got the opportunity to work officially as a Nat Geo Photographer and fulfill one of the biggest fantasy of my life. I owe this to my parents and friends who supported me all the way throughout my journey as an artist.

and trust me how crazy it may sounds, sometimes dreams become true and life keeps surprising you.

2 thoughts on “How I won the Nat Geo Moment Awards 2013.

Leave a Reply

